I gotta learn Spanish. Actually classes started in September. Understand people, I had a hard enough time getting through English, a language I already spoke. Highest grade I ever made in English was in the 10th grade was a D+, my dear mother cried, she was so proud. English, a subject I will deal with in another blog.
I went to the liquor store today. Can I say that ... being a church goer and all. Anyway, where was I? Oh ya liquor store. Not being the best speller in the fifth grade and dyslexic to boot, I am reading the labels at the store I can't mention. Well people, I have tried the Jose Cuervo Original Margartia Mix and found it, how shall we say, lacking. So on the shelve up pops, my dear conneseurs of the Margarita, Margarita Careyes. My mind says, a margarita mix, very cool, "NOT". Actually Margarita Careyes is a margarita drink with, guess what's in it, TEQUILA. Go Figure.
After arriving at my casa (home) it's off to the cocina (kitchen). I go with above said "mix" in hand. Standard mix ... one part tequila two parts tequila mix, fresh squeezed lime juice, a little salt on the rim (am I making you thirsty)? Two guacamole, onion, tomatoes, garlic, salt, cilantro, and lime . Voila! Guacamole. Grab the trusted Tostitos. Off to the patio I go. Call my bride of 27 plus years to join me . Her first comment was, isn't this margarita a little bitter? Well being the great bartender I am, I said "NO". "Seems, a little bitter to me" was her reply.
This started a conversion. What's in Margarita Careyes? After additional study it turns out that the main ingredient is. You guessed it, TEQUILA. Not being one to waste good distilled spirits. I drank both glasses. Mexico is a learning process, I am getting there.
Please understand, I have been trying to write this blog with way too much Tequila in my system.
Remember : God only gives a certain number of days. I don't plan on wasting the ones I have left.
Until we talk again.
Mike
No comments:
Post a Comment